
 ARTICLE E 
 
 Enforcement and Penalties 
 
 
SEC. 10-1-60 PENALTIES. 
 
(a) FORFEITURE PENALTY.  The penalty for violation of any provision of this 

Chapter shall be a forfeiture as hereafter provided, together with court costs and 
fees prescribed by Sections 814.63(1) and (2) or 814.65(1), Wis. Stats., the penalty 
assessment for moving traffic violations and the driver improvement surcharge 
imposed by Section 165.87 and 346.655, Wis. Stats., where applicable.  Payment of 
the judgment and applicable court costs, fees, assessments and surcharges may be 
suspended by the sentencing court for not more than sixty (60) days.  Any person 
eighteen (18) years of age or older who shall fail to pay the amount of the forfeiture, 
court costs, any penalty assessment or driver surcharge or other penalty imposed for 
violation of any provision of this Chapter may, upon order of the court entering 
judgment therefor and having jurisdiction of the case, be imprisoned until such 
forfeiture, costs and assessment are paid, but not exceeding ninety (90) days. 

(b) OTHER SANCTIONS. 
 (1) By Court.  Nothing herein shall preclude or affect the power of the 

sentencing court to exercise additional authorities granted by the Wisconsin 
Statutes to suspend or revoke the operating privileges of the defendant, order 
the defendant to submit to assessment and rehabilitation programs or to 
attend traffic safety school in addition to payment of a monetary penalty or 
in lieu or imprisonment. 

 (2) By Municipality.  No person who has been convicted of a violation of any 
provision of this Chapter shall be issued a license or permit by the City 
Clerk, except dog license, until the forfeiture imposed for such violation any 
penalty assessment, court costs and fees or surcharge is paid. 

(c) FORFEITURES FOR VIOLATION OF UNIFORM MOVING TRAFFIC 
REGULATIONS.  Forfeitures for violations of any moving traffic regulation set 
forth in the Wisconsin Statutes adopted by reference in Section 10-1-1 shall 
conform to the forfeiture penalty permitted to be imposed for violations of the 
comparable Wisconsin Statute, including any variations or increases for subsequent 
offenses; provided, however, that this Subsection shall not be construed to permit 
prosecution under this Chapter for any offense described in Chapters 341 to 348, 
Wis. Stats., for which an imprisonment penalty or fine may be imposed upon the 
defendant. 

(d) FORFEITURES FOR PARKING VIOLATIONS. 
 (1) Forfeitures for Uniform Statewide Parking, Stopping and Standing Offenses.  

Minimum and maximum forfeiture for violation of non-moving traffic 
violations adopted by reference in Section 10-1-1 as described in Chapters 
341 to 348, Wis. Stats., shall be as found in the current edition of the Revised 
Uniform State Traffic Deposit Schedule. 



(e) OTHER VIOLATIONS.  Any person who shall violate any provision of this 
Chapter for which a penalty is not otherwise established by this Section shall be 
subject to a forfeiture of not less than Ten Dollars ($10.00) nor more than Two 
Hundred Dollars ($200.00). 

(f) ALCOHOL RELATED OFFENSES.  Upon conviction of any alcohol related 
offense for which the City has expended funds or incurred expense for the 
withdrawal or testing of blood or urine, the cost of such service to the City shall be 
added to any forfeiture, court cost, and fees imposed by the Court. 

 
 
SEC. 10-1-61 ENFORCEMENT. 
 
(a) ENFORCEMENT PROCEDURES. 
 (1) How Enforces.  This Chapter shall be enforced in accordance with the 

applicable provisions of the Wisconsin Statutes and this Section. 
 (2) Applicable Court Procedures.  Except where otherwise specifically provided 

by the laws of the State of Wisconsin or this Code, the traffic regulations in 
this Code shall be enforced in the County Circuit Court. 

(b) CITATIONS. 
 (1) Uniform Citation and Complaint.  The Wisconsin Uniform Traffic Citation 

and Complaint described and defined in the Wisconsin Statutes shall be used 
for enforcement of all provisions of this Chapter except those provisions 
which describe or define non-moving traffic violations and violations of 
Sections 346.71 through 346.73, Wis. Stats. 

(2) Parking Citations.  The Comptroller shall recommend a citation for use in 
enforcing the non-moving traffic offenses in this Chapter.  Such citation 
shall be used for enforcement of non-moving traffic regulations created or 
adopted by this Chapter, including violations of non-moving traffic 
regulations defined and described in the Wisconsin Statutes, adopted by 
reference in Section 10-1-1, and all provisions regarding non-moving traffic 
violations in this Chapter.  The citation for non-moving traffic violations 
shall contain a notice that the person cited may discharge the forfeiture for 
violation of a non-moving traffic regulation and penalty thereof by 
complying with Subsection (c)(2) of this Section.  Non-moving traffic 
citations may be issued by law enforcement officers or by the Comptroller's 
staff. 

(c) DEPOSITS AND STIPULATIONS. 
 (1) Uniform Traffic Offenses. 
  a. Who May Make.  Persons arrested or cited for violation of moving 

traffic offenses created by this Chapter shall be permitted to make 
deposits and stipulations of no contest or released by the arresting 
officer in accordance with the applicable provisions of the Wisconsin 
Statutes.  Stipulations of guilt or no contest may be made by persons 
arrested for violations of this Chapter in accordance with Section 
66.12(1)(b) of the Wisconsin Statutes whenever the provisions of 
Section 345.27 of the Wisconsin Statutes are inapplicable to such 



violations.  Stipulations shall conform to the form contained in the 
uniform traffic citation and complaint under Section 345.11 of the 
Wisconsin Statutes.  Stipulations may be accepted by the 
Comptroller or his designate. 

  b. Delivery or Mailing of Deposit and Stipulation.  Any person 
stipulating guilt or no contest under the preceding Subsection must 
make the deposit required under Section 345.26 of the Wisconsin 
Statutes or, if the deposit is not established under such Statute, shall 
deposit a forfeited penalty as provided in the schedule established by 
the Chief of Police and approved by the City Attorney.  Deposits 
may be brought or mailed in lieu of court appearance to the Police 
Department or placed in marked depositories as directed by the 
Officer. 

  c. Receipt Required.  Every officer accepting a stipulation under the 
provisions of this Chapter shall comply with the provisions of 
Sections 343.27, 343.28, 345.26(1)(a) and 345.27(2) of the 
Wisconsin Statutes and shall require the alleged violator to sign a 
statement of notice in substantially the form contained on the 
uniform traffic citation and complaint promulgated under Section 
345.11 of the Wisconsin Statutes.  The official or person receiving 
the deposit shall furnish and deliver or mail an original receipt for 
such deposit to the alleged violator and shall deliver the deposit and 
stipulation to the Clerk of Courts. 

 (2) Non-moving Traffic Offenses. 
  Direct Payment of Penalty Permitted.  Whenever any person parks any 

vehicle in violation of any regulation imposed on City owned or leased 
parking lots, the police officers of the City shall report the facts thereof, 
knowledge of which is necessary to a thorough understanding of the 
circumstances attending such violation.  Each such officer shall attach to 
such vehicle a notice to the owner or operator thereof that such vehicle had 
been parked in violation of a City ordinance. 
a. Such notice shall state that each such owner or operator may pay to the 

City a forfeiture of Five Dollars ($5.00) if paid within ten (10) days of 
the date of violation or if paid not less than eleven nor more than 
twenty-eight (28) days of the issuance of said ticket a forfeiture of 
Twelve Dollars ($12.00) plus costs shall be imposed.  The failure of an 
owner or operator to appear after being summoned to court shall subject 
the owner or operator to a forfeiture of Fifteen Dollars ($15.00) plus 
appropriate court costs. 

b.  Any citation for violation of Section 10-1-29 shall carry a forfeiture of 
Twenty-five Dollars ($25.00). Failure to pay such forfeiture within ten 
(10) days of the date of the violation shall result in a forfeiture of Thirty-
five Dollars ($35.00) plus costs. 

c. Any citation for violation of Section 10-1-29, if such violation shall 
occur between April 1 and October 31, shall carry a forfeiture of Ten 
Dollars ($10.00). Failure to pay such forfeiture within ten (10) days of 



the date of the violation shall result in a forfeiture of Twenty Dollars 
($20.00) plus costs. 

 (3) Registration Suspension Program. 
  a. The City shall participate in the Wisconsin department of 

Transportation Traffic violation and Registration Program as set 
forth in Sec. 345.28, Wis. Stats., and Wis. Adm. Code Trans. 128 
and all amendments or changes thereto. 

  b. The Comptroller or his designate is hereby designated as a delegated 
authority for purposes of Sections 85.13 and 345.28, Wis. Stats., and 
Wis. Adm. Code Trans. 128.  The Police Department is authorized to 
perform, on behalf of the City, all functions required of a local 
authority under said Statutes and Code including, but not limited to: 

   1. Preparing and completing all forms and notices, notifying the 
Wisconsin Department of Transportation of unpaid citations 
for non-moving traffic violations; 

   2. Specifying whether the registration of vehicles involved in 
unpaid citations for non-moving traffic violations should be 
suspended and/or whether registration should be refused for 
any vehicle owned by persons with unpaid citations for non-
moving traffic violations; 

   3. Determining the method by which the City will pay the 
Wisconsin Department of Transportation for administration 
of the program; establishing the effective date for 
participation; 

   4. And taking such other action as is necessary to institute and 
continue participation in the Wisconsin Department of 
Transportation Traffic Violation and Registration Program. 

  c. The Comptroller is hereby authorized to assign a member of the 
Comptroller's staff to perform such acts as are necessary to effectuate 
this Subsection. 

  d. In addition to all applicable fines and court costs, the cost of using 
the Wisconsin Department of Transportation Traffic Violation and 
Registration Program shall be assessed as permitted by Sec. 
345.28(4)(d), Wis. Stats.  The Police Department may refuse to 
notify the Wisconsin Department of Transportation of payment on a 
citation until all applicable fines and costs, including costs assessed 
under the preceding sentence, are paid. 

  e. The City's participation in such program shall be in addition to any 
and all other means legally available to enforce such citations. 

 
 State Law Reference:  Sec. 345.28, Wis. Stats.; Chapter Trans. 128, Wis. Adm. 
Code. 


